Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

In the March 2014 Badger Common’Tater

WPVGA Annual Meeting:
Pavelski says potato industry ready to meet challenges

Jeremie Pavelski

2013 WPVGA President Jeremie Pavelski

At the Annual Meeting of the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) held February 6, 2014 in Stevens Point, 2013 WPVGA President Jeremie Pavelski says the organization is in good position to meet the challenges of 2014 and beyond.

“I believe the WPVGA continues to be in a strong position to advocate for the needs of our members,” said Pavelski, who also serves as the President of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock. For the full story, read the March 2014 issue of The Badger Common’Tater.

Alsum Elected WPVGA Board President for 2014

At a brief meeting held immediately following the Annual Meeting on February 6, the WPVGA board of directors elected Larry Alsum of Alsum Farms & Produce, Friesland, as its President for 2014.  Alsum, representing District 3, succeeds Jeremie Pavelski of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock who served as Board President in 2013.  Andy Wallendal of Wallendal Supply, Grand Marsh (At Large) was elected Vice President, while Mark Finnessy of Okray Family Farms, Plover (District 2) was elected Secretary and Josh Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook (District 1) was elected Treasurer.

Two new board members were elected for 2014:  Eric Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Inc., Antigo was elected in District 1, replacing Ron Mach of Mach’s Sunny Acres, Antigo.  Gary Wysocki of Wysocki Produce Farm, Bancroft, was elected in District 2, replacing Kirk Wille, also of Wysocki Produce Farm.  In addition to the four board officers and two newcomers, the rest of the WPVGA board includes:  Ron Krueger of Felix Zeloski Farms, Eagle River (District 1); Pavelski of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock (District 3); and Steve Diercks of Coloma Farms, Coloma (District 2).  Read more in the March 2014 Badger Common’Tater.

WPVGA Board Officers

WPVGA officers for 2014 include (L-R): Larry Alsum (President), Andy Wallendal (Vice President), and Josh Mattek (Treasurer). Not pictured is Secretary Mark Finnessy.

WPVGA Associate Division Board Re-Elects Mancl President for 2014

The WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors re-elected Eugene Mancl of Ron’s Refrigeration, Wisconsin Rapids, to be its President for 2014.  Mancl is in the second year of his second term on the Associate Division board. The rest of the officers for 2013 include: Chris Brooks of Central Door Solutions, Plover (Vice President); Steve Bohm of Wisconsin Public Service, Green Bay (Secretary); and Wayne Solinsky of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover (Treasurer).

Brooks and Butch Fencil of Fencil Urethane Systems, Wisconsin Rapids were incumbent Associate Division board members who were re-elected to the board for their second terms.  Newcomers elected to the board were Zach Mykisen of Big Iron Equipment, Plover and Sally Surprise of Ansay & Associates, Neenah.  They were elected to replace Mike Maguire of United FCS, Stevens Point, and Cathy Schommer, Badgerland Financial, Baraboo, who completed their second terms on the board.

In addition to the officers and newcomers, the rest of the WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors for 2014 includes:  Paul Cieslewicz of Sand County Equipment, Bancroft, and Fencil.

2014 Associate Division Board

The 2014 WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors includes: Front row (L-R) President Eugene Mancl, Vice President Chris Brooks, Secretary Steve Bohm and Treasurer Wayne Solinsky; Back row (L-R) Butch Fencil, Paul Cieslewicz, Zach Mykisen and Sally Surprise.

Don't miss an issue!

Subscribe Today

Badger Common’Tater Archives