Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

Thirty-Nine Vying for 2016 Wisconsin Fairest of the Fair

The 2016 Wisconsin Fairest of the Fair will be crowned during the 50th Wisconsin Association of Fairs’ annual convention in Wisconsin Dells this winter. According to program organizers, 39 students will compete for the title, in which the winner will travel the state next year as the ambassador and spokesperson for all the fairs of Wisconsin. The competition will be held January 10-13 at the Chula Vista Resort.

“Our program has evolved over the years and it is stronger than ever,” said Wisconsin Association of Fairs Executive Secretary Jayme Buttke. “A special reception will be held for the former state winners, as well as introducing them at the evening banquet. We are very excited to share memories of the past winners as we celebrate this ‘Golden A’Fair.'”

The contestants will participate in several rigorous interviews and impromptu question and answer sessions throughout the three-day competition.

This year’s candidates include: Barron County, Amber Johnson; Brown County, Heather Duquaine; Calumet County, Gloria Kesler; Central WI State, Ashlynn Kirk; Clark County, Kaitlin Artac; Dane County, Mariah Martin; Dodge County, Karoline Twardokus; Fond Du Lac County, Valerie Kramer; Grant County, Kami Schuler; Green County, Whitney Disch; Iowa County, Tayler Bowser; Jefferson County, Olivia Peter; Juneau County, Amber Bellows; Kenosha County, Lauren Feltner; Kewaunee County, Rebecca Steinhorst; La Crosse Interstate, Kaytlyn Larson; Langlade County, Ashley Brown; Lodi Ag, Sydney Endres; Manitowoc County, Cheyenne Mueller; Marquette County, Emma Wagner; Northern WI State, Harmony Dement; Oconto County, Jenna Herzog; Outagamie County, Brittany Vanden Heuvel; Polk County, Kayla Johnson; Racine County, Jenna Franseen; Richland County, Keely Liska; Rock County, Abigail Martin; Sauk County, Marlee Bonham; Shawano County, Shianna Gracyalny; Sheboygan County, Elizabeth Widder; St. Croix County, Shelby Weiske; Trempealeau County, Shylana Goplin; Vernon County, Megan Bakkum; Walworth County, Emily Watson; Washburn County, Mckayla Olson; Waukesha County, Danielle Decloux; Waupaca County, Kayla Mischke; Winnebago County, Carley Chapin; and Wisconsin Valley, Anissa Walters.

The winning contestant will replace outgoing Fairest of the Fair Deanna Schlies from Brown County.

Tater Talk Past Issues

Volume 16, Issue 8 | February 23, 2024

Tater Talk Archives

Tater Talk Subscription
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.