Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

WPVGA Presents Annual Industry Awards

In addition to its annual Hall of Fame induction, the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) presented several other annual industry awards at a banquet held February 4, 2015 in Stevens Point.

Kathy Bartsch of Bartsch Farms, Coloma, was named the WPVGA Volunteer of the Year.

Eric Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Inc., Antigo, was named WPVGA Young Grower of the Year.

The WPVGA Researcher of the Year Award went to Dr. Paul Mitchell of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Dept. of Agricultural and Applied Economics.

The WPVGA Associate Division presented the Associate Division Business Person of the Year Award to Eugene Mancl of Ron’s Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, Inc., Wisconsin Rapids.

The Agri-Communicator Award for excellence in communication and dedicated service in presenting a positive message about the agricultural industry was presented to Dianne Somers of Plover River Farms, Stevens Point.

2014 WPVGA President Larry Alsum of Alsum Farms & Produce, Friesland, presented President’s Awards to his daughters Wendy Alsum-Dykstra and Heidi Alsum-Randall.  He also presented a President’s Award to WPVGA Executive Director Tamas Houlihan of Stevens Point.

Special Industry Appreciation Awards were presented to Chris Brooks of Central Door Solutions, Plover; Glenn Carlson, former Agricultural Supervisor at the Hancock Agricultural Research Station; and Nick Somers of Plover River Farms, Stevens Point.

[Note:  A Press Release with more details on the annual Industry Awards is being sent to all media.]

Tater Talk Past Issues

Volume 16, Issue 7 | February 16, 2024

Tater Talk Archives

Tater Talk Subscription
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.