Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

WPVGA/WSPIA Elections Held

Schroeder Elected WPVGA Board President for 2017


WPVGA Board: Back Row (L-R) Andy Wallendal, Steve Diercks, Rod Gumz, Treasurer Wes Meddaugh; Front Row (L-R) Vice President Josh Mattek, President Eric Schroeder, Mark Finnessy, Secretary Gary Wysocki; Inset: Ron Krueger

At a brief meeting held immediately following the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) Annual Meeting on February 9 in Stevens Point, the WPVGA Board of Directors elected Eric Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Inc., Antigo, as its President for 2017. Schroeder, the WPVGA representative at large, succeeds Mark Finnessy of Okray Family Farms, Plover, who served as Board President in 2016. Josh Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook (District 1) was elected Vice President; Gary Wysocki of RPE, Inc., Bancroft (District 2) was reelected Secretary; and Wes Meddaugh of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock (District 3) was elected as Treasurer.

In addition to the four board officers, the rest of the WPVGA Board of Directors includes: Finnessy (District 2), who remains on the board; Steve Diercks of Coloma Farms, Coloma (District 2); Ron Krueger of Eagle River Seed Farm, LLC, Eagle River (District 1); Rod Gumz of Gumz Muck Farms, LLC, Endeavor (District 3); and Andy Wallendal of Wallendal Supply, Inc., Grand Marsh (District At-Large).

WPVGA Associate Division Board Elects Sally Suprise President for 2017

2017 WPVGA Associate Division Board

2017 WPVGA Associate Division Board: (L-R) Treasurer Nick Laudenbach, Zach Mykisen, Kenton Mehlberg, President Sally Suprise, Vice President Casey Kedrowski, Joel Zalewski, Secretary Cathy Schommer, Paul Cieslewicz

The WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors elected Sally Suprise of Ansay & Associates, LLC, Appleton to be its President for 2017. Suprise replaces Wayne Solinsky of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover, who completed his second term on the Associate Division Board. The rest of the officers for 2017 include: Casey Kedrowski of Roberts Irrigation Company, Inc., Plover (Vice President); Cathy Schommer of Badgerland Financial, Baraboo (Secretary); and Nick Laudenbach of Fencil Urethane Systems, Wisconsin Rapids (Treasurer).

Schommer and Joel Zalewski of Insight FS, Antigo, were incumbent Associate Division Board members who were re-elected to the board for their second terms. Newcomers elected to the board were Paul Cieslewicz (who has served on the board in the past) of Sand County Equipment, Bancroft, and Kenton Mehlberg, T.I.P., Inc./Ag Grow Solutions, Custer. They were elected to replace Solinsky and Dale Bowe of Wisconsin Public Service Corp., Wausau, who completed their second terms on the board. The other WPVGA Associate Division Board member is Zach Mykisen of Big Iron Equipment, Inc., Plover.


Guenthner Unanimously Elected WSPIA President for 2017

2017 WSPIA Board

2017 WSPIA Board: (L-R) Secretary/Treasurer J.D. Schroeder, Jeff Fassbender, Dan Kakes, Vice President Charlie Mattek, President Bill Guenthner

As part of the Wisconsin Seed Potato Improvement Association (WSPIA) Annual Meeting, January 25, at North Star Lanes in Antigo, the WSPIA Board of Directors elected Bill Guenthner of Guenthner Farms, Inc., Antigo, President for 2017. Guenthner succeeds Eric Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Inc., Antigo, who served as Board President in 2016. Charlie Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook, was elected Vice President; and John D. Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Inc., Antigo was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

In addition to the three board officers, the other two WSPIA Board of Directors are Jeff Fassbender of Seidl Farms, Deerbrook, and Dan Kakes of Kakes Farms, Bryant.

Tater Talk Past Issues

Volume 16, Issue 7 | February 16, 2024

Tater Talk Archives

Tater Talk Subscription
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.