Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association

WPVGA Annual Meeting: Faldet Cites Successful Teamwork; Pavelski Elected President for 2013

February 22nd, 2013 | Posted in: News

“Teamwork is the hallmark of the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association.”

That was the message from out-going WPVGA President Brad Faldet of Faldet Farms, Iola, as he presided over the WPVGA Annual Meeting held February 7, 2013 in Stevens Point.

“I have been honored and privileged to serve as the President of the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association in 2012,” Faldet said.  “I feel we have a great team, and that includes the entire WPVGA Board of Directors; the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board; all the WPVGA grower members, associate division members, and auxiliary members; as well as our outstanding and dedicated professional staff.  Everyone plays an important role in our industry.”

“There were many valuable accomplishments in the Wisconsin potato and vegetable industry in 2012,” Faldet continued, “and it is only through tremendous cooperation and teamwork that we are able to achieve our goals.  I’m proud and humbled to have been selected to serve as your leader this past year.  I truly appreciate the time and effort that everyone put forth.”

WPVGA Executive Director Duane Maatz pointed out several highlights for the organization. He said water issues continue to be at the forefront of industry concerns.  “Through the Water Task Force, a subcommittee of our Research Committee, we continue to monitor irrigation wells as well as test wells in an effort to better understand the aquifer and its recharge capabilities,” said Maatz.  “Our efforts to better understand the relationships between ground and surface water, cropping systems, the native species on the landscape, evapotranspiration, climate change and other human influences continue.  We are trying to keep the practical side of farming, practical.”

Maatz said the industry-funded Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Storage Research Facility continues to pay dividends.  “After retiring the debt on the Storage Research Facility last year, we have included repair and maintenance dollars in our budget,” he said.  “Our intent is to assist with ongoing costs related to maintaining the facility.  I expect great things for the 2013 storage season.  The facility is fully utilized and includes studies on vegetables other than potatoes.  This addresses important aspects assisting us to become even more successful.  As we learn more about storage, we can open the path to thinking about more fresh crop alternatives in the market.”

Brad Faldet

Outgoing WPVGA Board President Brad Faldet

Pavelski Elected WPVGA Board President for 2013

At a brief meeting held immediately following the Annual Meeting on February 7, the WPVGA board of directors elected Jeremie Pavelski of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock, President for 2013.  Pavelski succeeds Brad Faldet who served as Board President in 2012.  Larry Alsum of Alsum Farms & Produce, Friesland, was elected Vice President, while Andy Wallendal of Wallendal Supply, Grand Marsh was elected Secretary and Ron Mach of Mach’s Sunny Acres, Antigo was elected Treasurer.

Three new board members were elected for 2013:  Ron Krueger of Felix Zeloski Farms, Eagle River and Josh Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook, were elected in District 1, replacing Rob Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Inc., Antigo and Paul Sowinski of Sowinski Farms, Inc., Rhinelander.  Mark Finnessy of Okray Family Farms, Plover, was elected to replace Faldet in District 2.  In District 3, Pavelski and Alsum were re-elected to their second terms on the board.  In addition to the four board officers and three newcomers, the rest of the WPVGA board includes:  Steve Diercks of Coloma Farms, Coloma (District 2) and Kirk Wille of Wysocki Produce Farm, Bancroft (District 2).

Jeremie Pavelski, Andy Wallendal & Ron Mach

Jeremie Pavelski, Andy Wallendal & Ron Mach

WPVGA Associate Division Board Elects Mancl President for 2013

The WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors elected Eugene Mancl of Ron’s Refrigeration, Wisconsin Rapids, to be its President for 2013.  Mancl is in the first year of his second term on the Associate Division board. The rest of the officers for 2012 include: Chris Brooks of Central Door Solutions and Integrated Technology Consultants, Plover (Vice President); Wayne Solinsky of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover (Secretary); and Mike Maguire of United FCS, Stevens Point (Treasurer).

Mancl and Paul Cieslewicz of Sand County Equipment, Bancroft, were incumbent Associate Division board members who were re-elected to the board for their second terms.  Newcomers elected to the board were Steve Bohm of Wisconsin Public Service, Green Bay and Solinsky.  They were elected to replace out-going President Danny Wysocky of Adams-Columbia Electric Cooperative, Friendship, and Brion Hackbarth of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover, who completed their second terms on the board.

In addition to the officers and election winners, the rest of the WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors for 2013includes:  Cathy Schommer of Badgerland Financial, Baraboo and Butch Fencil of Fencil Urethane Systems, Inc., Wisconsin Rapids.

2013 Associate Division Board

2013 Associate Division Board; Back Row, L to R: Butch Fencil, Paul Cieslewicz, Cathy Schommer, Steve Bohm; Front Row, L to R: Eugene Mancl, Chris Brooks, Wayne Solinsky, Mike Maguire

Blog Archives